Its been a while

Its been a while since we’ve both posted. Life has been busy. We are still trying to cook as much of our own food as possible. Baking bread and making granola our two of my new weekly habits. Just as driving to Gibson Dairy Store for local milk, eggs and cheese is now part of John’s  Friday errands. In addition we have started working in the yard.

Our square foot beds have been cleaned, hand tilled and fertilized. John built a great trellis for one of the beds to grow snap peas and cucumbers. And we’ve seeded several pots with carrots, bok choy, chard, meslun and shallots that will be placed in sunny spots of our yard where digging a plot is not possible. I’ve also for the first year started planting veggies from seeds. Its been a fun excercise with some success. My first batch of plants had suffered a little from the excess sun and heat from inside my little green house shelf outside, but otherwise the plants are doing great. I now have  a flat of cooler weathered plants hardening outside: more chard, broccoli, lettuce, and chard. And flat of warmer weathered plants: tomatoes, peppers, eggplant, beans, cucumbers and okra growing under my handy dandy grow light (a gift from my dad, who is an avid gardener and a huge help as I try to start gardening veggies for my own family).  I even have some sunflowers and marigolds growing inside too!

What I haven’t started from seed, I hope to pickup today at Plantapalooza. We are on our way there soon, so there is not much more for me to post. But I’ll leave you with some pictures of whats growing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

